3 comments on “Magic Theft: A Victim’s Story

  1. First off – great article that also references another article… not often done.

    Second – great point on “doing someting” report the incident, help keep others and the enviroment safe, detur the thieves from even attempting to steal.

    Third……. I imagine this as could happen to me – I often have stuff that could catch a thiefs eye. But I 100% believe that you will get what you wish for – so really, I dont want this to happen to anybody. That’s my wish. But what if we pretend and maybe thinking about it will help us all be better prepared if this happens around us.
    …… *drift off to imagination land*

    Some overview. Iv’e been in the three most dangerous situations/enviroments/places possible (that involve other humans as the danger – no sharks, crocs, or vilociraptors) – I will leave you to guess, but I bet you cana guess at least 2 of them – sooo I wouldnt sweat too much if this did happen to me.
    Hence, I hope that my insight helps frame the way you look at this situation.

    TIPS TO WINNING WHEN LOSING STRIKES!

    #1 – what This article taught us is 100% real and if you attend major events then it is 100% potential to happen to you… it’s like crossing the street – look both ways and your safe, dart out and who knows.

    #2 if it happens, dont act like the unthinikable hapened, because then you will be un-thinking.

    So lets say it happens to me, “first person” will help me give perspective – use what helps you.

    If I see the thief, I would immediatly suplex/hip toss him (or HER… yes thats very very possible – expect the unexpeted) into a neghboring match’s table (cards flying for effect) Keep hold of his thief hand and snap that grimmy paw off! Justice served – 1 less thief in the world (well, 1 less 2-handed thief) This situation alone would be worth the attempt & any potential ramifications. The example made would be greatly publicized & have a positive effect to prevent future thievery. (like these articles should be doing now.)

    IIf I couldnt ID the thief right away, Id follow the advice given in this article – now that we all read this and have a plan of action – we can swiftly move to have an effect on the situation.

    now for tip #3 (articles about to get bizarre – I dont recomend this, im just saying) If the Thief is later Identified and you have a chance – even if the cops are nearby questioning things – I would so go for this move. – If accessible I would “act” as if the thief has threatened me somehow. Just say “get off me” or later say that he looked at me and said “ill get you for this!” (or mouthed it..) – or even that I saw him do it earlier and then he threatened me.. thieves are pretty much liars and thus not credible, so you can say almost anything here…. So, *I feel threatened.* EIther tackle the guy … to save everybody around you. Or defend yourself, swift kick to the junk, boy or girl, has an effect so damaging that it hurts everybody in the room. Kick, then back up… because your defending yourself, remember?. Ok – once again, I actually dont recomend this and I guess it’s not a tip – but now to my real point. The cops will grab you either on the spot, or later during reporting (or they will think the thief deserved it and “not be able to find you”) When they grab me, this is a good thing if I am out for vengance. I haave greatly increased my chances of a “victim” and now even in the event of a plea, I can “press charges” – demand to have charges stand in trial. These “theories” have zero legality – but humans are emotional creatures and somehow when the “victim” demands things, people agree with them. You get in the court room and who knows, maybe you get a hit placed out on you later in life? okay… forget about this number 3 altogether

    The real tip #3 – Try not to be a player and a trader. If you are playing, why do you need that mega trade binder? Show up prepared – this means go to the hotel room and lock things up.. you can trade later if you’re not still busy beating everybody. If your there to play, then you should focus on that, thus – no need to focus on the safty of your property.

    Tip #4 – If you go as a a trader, just hanging out – you still need to be ever vigalant (yes, never tap when attacking – it means you cant defend later! And plus, most thieves have flash & first strike!) Keep an eye out for potentially open targets & warn them – probably teh best advice that these articles gave you. Say it loud too – “Hey buddy, zipper up that bag so your stuff doesnt fall out.” “Yo dude, This is YOUR binder, isnt it?” Things like that may tip off the thief that was “watching your trade” aka “casing the joint”.

    Tip #5 – Dont ever think about being a thief. And if you know somebody thaat is one or plans to be one. If they cant listen to reason then warn them that they might steal from somebody who read these articles & save them from making the blotter report… if that wont work tell them about me & save them from losing thier hand.

    The only thief that should be taking your cards out of the game is this one.

    Display: Oracle | Printed
    Card Name:Rootwater Thief
    Mana Cost:
    Converted Mana Cost:2

    Types:Creature — Merfolk Rogue
    Card Text:: Rootwater Thief gains flying until end of turn.
    Whenever Rootwater Thief deals combat damage to a player, you may pay . If you do, search that player’s library for a card and exile it, then the player shuffles his or her library.
    P/T:1 / 2

    Display: Oracle | Printed
    Card Name:Rootwater Thief
    Mana Cost:
    Converted Mana Cost:2

    Types:Creature — Merfolk Rogue
    Card Text:: Rootwater Thief gains flying until end of turn.
    Whenever Rootwater Thief deals combat damage to a player, you may pay . If you do, search that player’s library for a card and exile it, then the player shuffles his or her library.
    P/T:1 / 2

  2. Awesome / depressing article. It drives home the point that you always think “oh, that sucks for that dude, why wasn’t he paying attention, that will never happen to me” to oh, shit, that just happened. If the 99% of people who are there to enjoy events watch out for another, they won’t let the 1% ruin it. Again.

  3. Pingback: The BadMagicPlayer’s Guide to Big Events | BadMagicPlayer.com

Leave a Reply

